top of page
  • Writer's picturemarilyn robertson

How fast do you walk?

After reading an article one day about how your walking speed relates to your health and well-being, I started to feel a concern and slight guilt about sauntering slowly along on my walk while everyone else sped past with their chipper greetings. I haven't been walking as much lately as I know I should. Then I had a helpful reminiscence pop into my brain. One snowy morning before work I was slowly making my way down the drive towards the rear entrance - thoroughly enjoying those last few moments before I had to go inside and move at full speed ahead for the rest of the day.


As I stepped up on the dock the Manager said "Good morning", and then added "Thank you." She could see my puzzlement, so proceeded to explain. She had been suffering a vertigo sensation and had moved outside to calm it. Watching me walk slowly and peacfully down the drive in the snow had brought calm for her. The vertigo eased and she felt better.


The recollection now brought me some comfort as well, as I realized that just doing what I do and being who I am can be exactly what another person may need at the moment, whether I become aware of it or not.


Thinking more about the article, I realized that, of course your state of health will be reflected in the speed you walk if you are unhealthy. But, that doesn't automatically mean that the relationship between health and walking speed can be flipped around, using the result as a determinant of a cause.


I used to walk everywhere full speed ahead. It wasn't because I was particularly healthy, it was because I had 50 things to do and not enough time to get them done. It was also, sometimes, to help relieve the stress before I exploded at someone. Now, I have crossed many of those things off my list and move much more slowly because I choose to. I choose to look closely at the plants; the trees; the birds; the water. I choose to move slowly so I can hear the birds nearby, or the coyotes on the hilltop singing to each other. I choose to take the time at work and pay attention to what I see around me, as if I was a customer and not an employee. I choose to take my time in the grocery store rather than rush in, grab, and leave. I like being mindful of my surroundings. I like experiencing the environment as fully as I can.


Rushing may cross things off the list, but slowing down is so much more enjoyable.


Rushing would never have allowed me to see and appreciate the colours and patterns of this little dragonfly resting and sunning on the stem in the marsh.






2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page